Kuwait University 5.96


About Kuwait University

Kuwait University Kuwait University is a well known place listed as Community & Government in Kuweit ,

Contact Details & Working Hours


Kuwait University is a public university in Kuwait.HistoryKuwait University (KU), (in Arabic: جامعة الكويت), was established in October 1966 under Act N. 29/1966. The university was officially inaugurated on 27 November 1966 to include the College of Science, the College of Arts, the College of Education and the College for Women. The university is the state’s first public institution of higher education and research.The university aims to preserve and transmit knowledge through scholarship, and encourage innovation and development in the arts and the sciences. It comprises 17 colleges offering 76 undergraduate, 71 graduate programs.The university facilities are spread over six campuses, offering programs in the sciences, engineering, humanities, medical and social sciences. Students are awarded Bachelor, Master and Doctoral degrees.The current president of Kuwait University is Prof. Hussain Al-Ansari.In November 2015, the university organised the Kuwait Global Technopreneurship Challenge (KGTC).CampusThe six campuses that comprise the university are Adailiya, Shuwaikh, Keifan, Khaldiya, Fintas, and Jabriya. They are minutes away from downtown Kuwait City. The main access to Shuwaikh campus, Jamal Abdul Nassar Street, overlooks the Persian Gulf. The 380-acre ‘green’ campus is designed to shelter students from extremes in weather.Organization and developmentThe university has seen its enrollment grow from about 418 to 40,000 students, faculty from 31 to 1,565, colleges from 4 to 17, and administrative and academic support personnel from 200 to more than 5,000. Kuwait University has more than 100,000 alumni serving the country and the region and some have attained prominent positions.